Avery’s Arrival!

So as you probably know our sweet Avery has arrived! I can’t believe she has been with us for 11 days already. It’s amazing how one little baby can change your life so significantly. Anyways, I thought I’d share the story of Avery’s arrival not that it’s super exciting. So I was scheduled for a 1 pm c-section on April 18th. We got to the hospital at 11 to fill out paperwork and get set up for the c-section. I started in a triage room for prepping. They pumped me up with 2 huge bags of fluid which of course made me need to pee like every 5-10 minutes. Right off the bat we ran into a slight issue. They hooked me up to a machine so they could monitor Avery’s heartbeat. Based on where the heartbeat was the nurse thought Avery was no longer breeched. They called for an ultrasound but did warn us if she was no longer breech then the c-section would most likely be cancelled. I started to panic because Chad was off work, my mom was on her way from California, and I’d mentally prepared myself for Avery’s arrival. Luckily, while waiting for the ultra sound she got the hiccups and based on the hiccups I knew she hadn’t turned. The ultra sound also confirmed that she was still breech which was a sigh of relief.

Close to 1 we received notice that my c-section was going to be delayed for an hour to an hour and 1/2 due to the anitbodies in my blood. So my blood type is O negative and if you have negative blood type you have to get a shot at 28 weeks and then another one after the birth of the baby. For a first  baby no harm will be done but without the shot if I had another baby antibodies could attack the baby. So they took some blood to see if antibodies were still in my blood and they were which created a delay with the surgery. If I needed a blood transfusion for any reason there wasn’t enough of my blood type (or something I never really understood) then there would be issues. All I know is it delayed us.

We finally got clearance to proceed with the c-section. I have to say the c-section was an interesting experience. It was such a casual thing for the doctors. I heard some hospital gossip during the c-section and learned personal details of the doctors life. The surgery was about 45 minutes but Avery arrived within 5 to 7 minutes of the surgery. The only way I know how to describe Avery’s arrival via c-section is I felt a huge pressure which felt like a vacuum was suctioning everything out of me and suddenly she was here. Hearing her little baby cry for the first time made me cry. I saw her briefly before she was taken to be cleaned. I spent the whole time trying to see her. I didn’t expect to be so emotional but I cried. I couldn’t believe Avery had finally arrived. After she was cleaned up Chad brought her to me so I could see her for a few minutes before she was taken to be weighed and inspected. She was the perfect little baby I couldn’t help but fight back tears. This little person in front of me was something Chad and I created. It’s crazy when I think about it. After our brief visit Chad and Avery left and they finished the c-section. I did have some minor complications after. I lost a lot of blood and spent an hour or two in a room before I could go to my recovery room. I also had a bad reaction to the medicine they gave me which cause my face to swell and I spent most the night throwing up. It was a rough first night but obviously worth it since we have a healthy, beautiful baby girl.

Avery was born at 1:43 pm and was 7 lbs, 13 ounces and 20 1/2 inches long.  She is the perfect little baby and we are so joyed to have her in our lives!

A few pictures

Saying bye to the pups before leaving for the hospital

IMG_4461.jpg

First picture of Avery (kinda gross since she literally just arrived!)

IMG_4482.jpg

First family picture

Avery002.jpg

Avery and I the next day

IMG_4546.jpg

Avery being swaddled

IMG_4535.jpg

Coming home from the hospital the pups meeting their new little sister

IMG_4602.jpg

IMG_4605.jpg

3 thoughts on “Avery’s Arrival!

Leave a Reply

