The Biggest Loser!

Last week Avery turned 5 weeks old and I had my 6 week post postpartum visit even though I was technically 5 weeks postpartum. The good news is my incision looks good and I’ve been given the okay to start working out. Have I started yet? Not at all. The intention is there but I have been so tired. I just wonder how working parents do it all. I am about 3 weeks away from returning to work and all I keep wondering is how am I going to survive work on little sleep? I wonder how I will have the energy to work all day and then spend the night making dinner, working out, playing with Avery, and spending time with Chad. It seems overwhelming thinking about it. I feel like my life will need to be on a schedule so I don’t waste my nights. I guess we will see.

Yesterday Chad and I decided we need to get back on the exercise bandwagon. I’m 13 pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight but would like to lose 15 pounds. While I’ve lost a lot of my baby weight I still cannot fit into most of my clothes and fear I’ll have nothing to wear when I return to work. So I basically have 20 days to work my ass off so I can fit into my work clothes. Chad and I decided we are going to do the Biggest Loser for motivation. Today we are supposed to write up contracts and come up with a game plan but hopefully with both of us being motivated we can keep each other on track so we both can be in shape and at a healthy weight. I was cruising around pinterest (Because who isn’t obsessed with that website?) and found a few ideas to help us out with working out. I thought I’d share them in case anyone else is in an exercise rut 

Exercise Idea 1

Weight Loss Tips.

 

Exercise idea 2

Healthy and Happy

 

Exercise Idea 3

Workouts workouts

Exercise Idea 4 (which intrigues me the most)

beat boredom treadmill workout

 

I’m going to show these plans to Chad today and see what he thinks. I’ll make sure to keep everyone posted on how it goes. 

Anyways, life in the Smith household is going well with Avery. We’ve been very fortunate to have such a supportive group of family and friends who have stopped by or traveled to visit Avery. Two weeks ago my brother, sister-in-law and niece and nephew came to visit. It was great having them around and fun to spend time with my niece and nephew. They are so much fun and so darn adorable. This past weekend my mom and her boyfriend visited which was also a great time and the weather was amazing for their visit. We’ve also had our friends stop by so it’s been nice to see so many people who are excited to meet Avery and have fallen in love with her. I feared friends could disappear once we had a baby but for the most part it’s been the opposite. One aspect that’s been a struggle is some people don’t realize how much a baby changes your life.  I can no longer can drop everything and go somewhere. I now have another person I am responsible for and my friends are no longer my top priority.  It’s been frustrating at  times but I really feel some people will never understand what I’m going through and how much your life changes until they become parents. 

Avery is doing well. She is starting to gain weight and her cute skinny legs have gained some thickness to them. She is overall sleeping better and is such a sweet baby. She loves kisses and loves staring at pictures of her cousins (no lie). Avery also is doing an amazing job during tummy time and can lift her head a few inches off the ground. I’m so proud of all her accomplishments and I can’t wait to see more of her milestones!

Here are a few pictures of Avery

Avery and Chad during tummy time…Chad adores Avery which is so cute!

IMG_5100.jpg

 

Avery and Chad staring each other down

IMG_5104.jpg

 

Avery practicing her UFC moves on Chad

IMG_5104.jpg

 

Family photo

IMG_5104.jpg

 

Avery and I 

IMG_5104.jpg

Leave a Reply

