Trying new food…

Last weekend marked a milestone in Avery’s life. She can FINALLY start solids. We had done a few weeks of rice cereal and baby oatmeal  but I was ready to have her begin the journey of real food! About two weeks ago I gave her a little taste of pumpkin and she loved it but I wanted to make sure her first meal of solids was unexciting, boring and bland tasting. I want her to love everything and not grow up to be picky like Chad and I are. I bought a ton of vegetables for her…carrots, zucchini, beets, sweet potatoes, squash, avocado, and broccoli. I like some vegetables but I’ve never had a beet, I’ve never made a sweet potato  and have never cut open a squash. It was a hard day of labor in the kitchen between steaming the vegetables (shout-out to heather for the steamer like 4 years ago), using the baby bullet (thanks Steph for letting me borrow the baby bullet), and finding enough space to store all the baby food (thank you amazon for the inexpensive extra containers I purchased). Anyways, 3 hours later Avery had the first few weeks of baby food made and stored in the freezer. The true test would be how would she like the food? I know I said I wanted her to have a boring first meal but what I say and what I do almost never the same. We ended up giving her sweet potatoes and she loved them! After a few days we switched to Avocado which she loved and this morning we started her on squash. She ate the squash like there was no tomorrow. I hear its easy to get for babies to like puree vegetables but the real trick is getting them to like the vegetables as they get older. I’ll take the small defeats right now in life. Knowing, she already eats vegetables that neither Chad or I eat is super rewarding and hopefully it continues. 

I’ve also debated on having Avery be a vegetarian as she gets older. I want her to be a healthy kid and I don’t want her to develop bad eating habits like Chad and I. I know if she eats meat she will only be on my chicken and turkey diet. I guess I have time to really consider the pros and cons to do what I think is best for her. 

We’ve also officially moved away from bottles and have moved on top sippy cups. Little did I know you can start sippy cups at 4 months old. I feel like we deprived her by keeping her on bottles for so long. 

She still isn’t crawling but she’s so close…although I’ve been saying this for weeks now. 

We also are going through teething. What a roller coaster of emotions this process has been. Prior to have kids my fear about them was the actual delivery and then the teething stage. I heard it was awful and some days my fears are valid. It’s so sad seeing Avery so upset about something we can’t control. I would say 90% of the time she’s great but that 10% she is in pain she is loud and makes us know her discomfort. It’s heart breaking. Hopefully, the first tooth appears soon. I actually had a dream last night that Avery smiled at me and she had a mouthful of teeth. It was kinda creepy lol. 

Avery’s first Halloween went well. She dressed up as a pink little monster. I searched high and low for this costume but I finally found it. Even though it was a little snug on her she was by far the cutest little monster I’ve ever seen. My only regret was never getting a picture  of her with a pumpkin. Oh well there is always next year! 

That’s about all that is going on with little miss Avery. Enjoy her pictures! 🙂

Avery did not like my list of stuff so she tried to erase it lol

IMG_6623.jpg

IMG_6623.jpg

Halloween costume

IMG_6623.jpg

IMG_6623.jpg

IMG_6623.jpg

IMG_6623.jpg

 

About to take her first bite of sweet potatoes/first time eating solids!

IMG_6623.jpg

IMG_6623.jpg

IMG_6623.jpg

IMG_6623.jpg

First meal = Success! 

IMG_6623.jpg

My little punk rock princess 

IMG_6623.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

