2012 is coming to an end!

A sign you may have too many dogs? Your baby starts panting like a dog when she gets excited. Yes, Avery does this. I guess I never thought she would start mimicking our dogs. I find it hilarious but hopefully this is a short lived phase. I wonder what other traits of theirs she will pick up? Her favorite thing related to dogs is she loves watching dog fights (no not the kind Michael Vick went to prison for) but puppy play fights crack her up. I’m glad she enjoys dogs because I remember as a child being scared of them until we had one. 

Anyways, can you believe 2012 is almost over? It’s been an incredible year in our house. Obviously Avery’s arrival was the highlight but we were extremely fortunate to see every person who is important to us in life between my baby shower, a trip to Missouri and a trip to San Diego. We discovered this year how incredible parenthood is. Avery has brought so much love, joy, and happiness into our lives. She is the perfect baby full of laughter, strength and determination. She lights up a room and is curious about everything which I love. I’m so excited to see what 2013 brings to our lives and to see Avery continue to grow. It makes me sad that she is a few months shy of a year old. The first year has flown by!

Our Christmas was wonderful. I love the Christmas season…perhaps its the lights, the Christmas events, the excuse to eat as much junk as I want but regardless I love it all! I hope Avery will grow to love Christmas as much as I do.  I tried to make her Christmas season as exciting as possible. We went to zoo lights, the Mormon temple, watched the 25 days of Christmas, had a cheesy sweater party, tons of Christmas themed photo shoots, did the 12 days of Christmas for Chad and opened presents. Avery enjoyed Christmas day. She was extremely happy and loved opening presents. However, like most babies she enjoyed the boxes and wrapping paper more than the actual gifts. Avery received tons of presents, lots of educational toys and a whole new wardrobe. When will someone buy me a whole new wardrobe? lol..no seriously, I would love some new clothes without having to spend my own money to make this happen. haha

Avery is also crawling with a purpose. She also can get on her knees and can pull herself up to standing position. We are trying to teach her to make small steps but she prefers to keep her legs in a locked position. lol. 

Avery also celebrated 8 months of life a few weeks ago. The baby photo shoots are becoming more challenging. She erases her whiteboard with what she can do, she crawls around instead of sitting still. In all honesty this is another sign I could never be a photographer. I also am curious to know how photographers can capture a photo of an active baby sitting still, looking at the camera and smiling. I feel like those pictures are far and few between for me which is unfortunate. It’s a bummer I’m not more of an expert with my camera. I’ve seen so many cute photo shoots on pinterest I could do but I don’t think I have the talent, resources, or patience to try them.

 Oh Pinterest! What an amazing website. However, I often see baby ideas and wonder how they perfected it. In my next post at a later date I will show you an idea I found on pinterest which is the 12 days of Christmas. Anyways, day four I created a canvas which had Avery’s hands and feet. On pinterest these baby hands and feet are perfect and Avery hated every last second with paint on her. She screamed, she cried, and she squirmed. I guess we will never be featured on pinterest for our awesome art work. lol

I’m debating between two different New Years resolutions which I think would both benefit Avery. Well let me clarify I’m debating between two non traditional resolutions but have no fear I’m still making the traditional resolutions of eat healthier, exercise more, and save money. In an ideal world I’d find the time to accomplish both of these resolutions but this isn’t an ideal world and I know I won’t be able to do both. I have two pieces of equipment neither I know how to use. The questions is which one do I commit to learning in 2013? Do I FINALLY learn how to use my camera and utilize it in all the ways it should be used. This would allow more photographer like photo’s of Avery. Or do I FINALLY take classes and learn how to use my sewing machine I bought 2 years ago? This would hopefully allow me to make cute things for the house, Avery, and whatever else my sewing desires are. Tough decision. I guess I will post the results once I figure out what I should do.

Oh and for those who are curious Avery’s has a new year resolution as well. She hopes to walk by the end of 2013. LOL. She also would like to be potty trained or start being potty trained by her 2nd birthday.

Anyways, pictures galore time! 

Picnic with the pups

IMG_7364.jpg

IMG_7364.jpg

IMG_7364.jpg

IMG_7364.jpg

IMG_7364.jpg

IMG_7364.jpg

I guess she doesn’t love the items on the board lol

IMG_7364.jpg

IMG_7583.jpg

IMG_7583.jpg

What the heck am I wearing? ponders Avery

IMG_7364.jpg

This didn’t translate as well as I had hoped

IMG_7364.jpg

Please pretend I’m not in the picture..one of the worst pictures of me. This is Christmas Eve reading “T’was the night before Christmas. I like how Avery is engrossed in the book and has her hand on Addie

IMG_7364.jpg

Christmas morning at our house

IMG_7364.jpg

All of our stockings

IMG_7364.jpg

Christmas with Chad’s parents

IMG_7583.jpg

Avery with her presents..or most of them

IMG_7364.jpg

My favorite picture from Christmas

IMG_7364.jpg

IMG_7364.jpg

Why am I in a box?

IMG_7364.jpg

Planning my escape

IMG_7364.jpg

Exhausted from Christmas events

IMG_7364.jpg

Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

