Day 9: How important do I think education is

So I had day 9 typed up but I had a migraine and ended up going to bed crazy early yesterday…Anyways,

As someone who works in education my thoughts on it have changed through the years. When I was in College I thought education was everything. I thought it would lead me to a good paying job and open up so many doors for me. Once I graduated I did get a decent job which I’m still at. I was passionate about education but as the years go on my views on it have changed.  The truth is I don’t think education is that important unless you’re getting a degree in something specialized. Sadly, a lot of jobs do not require an education and the ones that do require a degree either require a general four year degree in anything or a very specific degree.

When I was in College I wish someone had drilled into me that I needed a very specific degree in the science field. I think the most successful people have degrees in science and can use their degree for good paying jobs. What is very unfortunate was I had a very hard time trying to decide on a degree and spent so much time in the Career Services department trying to figure out what I was going to do with my life. I needed someone to be honest with me about the world out there and no one was. For the record I am not doing anything with my four year degree and I don’t even believe my job requires a Bachelors degree anymore. If I could do it over again I would get a degree in the following majors…Dietitian, Psychical Therapist, Human Resources, Teaching, or Social Work. 

In short, I think education has lost its value. I know a lot of people who have Master’s degree and still can’t find a job. It’s a competitive market out there and it’s not what you know it’s who you know.

If anyone in high school or early college years reads this please please please please don’t waste your time on a bull shit degree tough it out and get a degree in science. They usually pay well, they are almost always in demand, and you have a specialized degree which makes you more marketable. 

 Anyways, that’s my two cents what are your thoughts about this?

Leave a Reply

