Christmas 2013

Is it me or did the Christmas season go by way too fast? I blame it on Thanksgiving since it came a week later than usual. Sadly, because of the shortened Christmas period I never really got into the Christmas spirit. Sure I went through the motions but I never really enjoyed it like I typically do. I also kept telling myself that Avery wouldn’t remember anything so it didn’t matter if I was in the spirit or not. However, we still did a lot of Christmas related events. We visited Santa twice and sadly both times Avery hated him. We looked at Christmas lights at several different locations, we listened to Christmas music, watched Christmas movies, made cookies, did the 12 days of Christmas with Chad, went to a Christmas concert/luminary event, but none of it really got me super hyped up. Even Christmas Eve felt like another day to me. That being said it’s still my favorite time of the year. 

The one thing I’ve learned since having a kid is that holidays and events are so much more exciting with a baby around. I wish I had the same excitement as Avery when she see’s fireworks, gets a new toy, or see’s Christmas lights. Children are awesome and I have a  whole new respect for them since having my own. They are just so innocent to the world and I love that. 

Christmas Eve was one of the first times I truly felt like a parent. I mean for the last 20 months I’ve felt like a parent but on Christmas Eve I felt like a mom to a kid as opposed to a mom of a baby. Chad and I were up till almost 2 am putting together a kitchen for Avery that my mom bought her for Christmas. On Christmas we felt the exhaustion of our labor and struggled to stay awake after lunch. As we were building the kitchen Chad kept saying “this better be worth it” and I told him it would be and sure enough I was right. Avery’s reaction to her new kitchen was priceless. She was so happy and he admitted the hard work was worth it. Last year was fun for Avery but this year was better. While she didn’t open the presents like we had hope she did love every present I opened for her. I love presents but watching Avery’s excitement was the best gift ever. I know that is cheesy but it’s true. It really made me happy to see her happiness.

Avery is loved and got a lot of new toys, clothes and books. We are truly fortunate for all the wonderful people in our life who love Avery and helped make her Christmas special. It’s a constant reminder that we have a lot of great people in our lives even if they aren’t close by.

Chad and I are in a position in life where we don’t need much and unfortunately for Chad he ended up with some lame gifts from me. However, he got me some great gifts. I am particularly excited for my bread machine. I’ve wanted one for like 4 years and this year I finally got one. I went to go make bread tonight and learned there is something called bread flour. I didn’t know this existed so I have to wait another day to make bread. 

I hope your holiday season was as wonderful as ours. Here are some pictures from Christmas. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

